Knowing how to prepare properly for an audition can make a world of difference in the final results. The following tips will help you prepare.

Click on the instrument you play (see the list below) to find the information you need to get ready for your audition. 

How to prepare...

Knowing how to prepare properly for an audition can make a world of difference in the final results. The following tips will help you prepare.

How to choose your piece of music…

This is a music camp dedicated to the blues, which means that, right from the start, your choice of music should in some way reflect the blues. You should also choose a piece that showcases your playing skills. 

It’s best to choose a short musical excerpt (approximately 3 minutes long) or to shorten the excerpt you choose to a reasonable length! Don’t be afraid to cut! Remember that the blues musicians who will be listening to you will have many other candidates to hear as well. 

And what about your interpretation?

If possible, listen to different recordings of the piece you choose. A good musician must constantly be enriching his or her musical ear and sensitivity: the more you develop your auditory skills, the more refined your interpretation will be. Understand the musical meaning of what you’re playing: work your phrasing so that it glides along and wins over the listening musicians with its harmonic and melodic accuracy. Sing while you play! Sit in a simple, comfortable position: sometimes moving around too much can interfere with your technique.

Who will be listening to you play?

At your audition, you will be greeted by professional, experienced blues musicians. If you feel a little nervous, that’s perfectly normal at an audition. You can be sure that all professional musicians have been there too! To help you overcome your stage fright, remind yourself that the bluesmen who will be there will be totally cool because they really understand what it feels like to have an audition. So just breathe deeply and relax! 

Lastly, how should you dress?

Wear comfortable clothing. Be yourself. Don’t try to change to conform to what you think the judges might expect. Remember that above all, the blues is a music of emotions and that your personality should show through your music. 

GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE
FROM THE ENTIRE BLUES CAMP TEAM!

Copyright © 2018. All Rights Reserved. Blues Camp.

Tu trouveras, en cliquant sur ton instrument (ci-dessous), les informations nécessaires pour t'aider à la préparation de ton audition. 

Comment se préparer...

Pour une audition, savoir se préparer adéquatement fait souvent toute une différence dans les résultats finaux. Les quelques conseils suivants sauront te guider dans la préparation de ton audition.

Comment choisir ta pièce musicale ?

C'est un camp musical qui sera consacré au blues. Donc, dès le départ, ton choix musical devra avoir une couleur teintée de blues. Si tu cherches un peu d’inspiration, voici une liste de plusieurs grands noms du blues.  Ta sélection musicale pour l'audition doit tenir compte de la facilité avec laquelle tu joues cette pièce. 

Préfère un court extrait musical (environ 3 minutes) ou ramène-le à une longueur raisonnable et n'hésite pas à couper ! N'oublie pas que les musiciens de blues qui vont t'entendre auront plusieurs autres candidats à écouter.

Et mon interprétation, elle ?

Si c'est possible, écoute des enregistrements différents de ta pièce musicale. En fait, un bon musicien se doit d'enrichir sa sensibilité d'écoute musicale : plus tu développes cette finesse auditive, plus tu raffines ton interprétation. Comprend le sens musical de ce que tu joues : travaille ton phrasé afin que celui-ci « glisse » et qu'il charme les musiciens qui t'écouteront par sa justesse tant harmonique que mélodique. Chante en jouant ! Reste simple dans ta position : parfois trop bouger peut nuire à ta technique.

Qui sera là pour m'écouter ?

Lors de ton audition, tu seras accueilli par des musiciens de blues professionnels qui ont de l'expérience. Peut-être que tu seras nerveux, c'est normal en audition : tous les musiciens professionnels sont passés par là. Si cela peut t'aider à vaincre ton « trac », dis-toi que les bluesmen qui seront là sont très cool parce qu'ils comprennent bien comment on se sent dans une audition. Soit relax !

Finalement, comment dois-je me présenter ?

Adopte une tenue vestimentaire dans laquelle tu te sens à l’aise. Reste toi-même. N'essaie pas de changer en fonction de ce que pourraient être les attentes des juges. Il ne faut pas que tu oublies que le blues est avant tout une musique d'émotion et que ta personnalité doit transparaître dans ta musique.

BONNE CHANCE À TOUS
DE LA PART DE TOUTE L'ÉQUIPE DU CAMP DE BLUES !

© Copyright 2016. Tous droits réservés. Camp de blues.